Cinnamon Raisin Brown Rice Pudding

Rice pudding…

A pudding of…RICE?

Yes. Rice pudding. It sounds weird and almost too quirky for it’s own good, but it’s probably one of the most comforting and enjoyable desserts/snacks I’ve ever made. I follow the blog of the lovely ladies over at WeAreNotMartha and they always inspire me with simple and delicious recipes. The rice pudding recipe really caught my attention and I set to work one late Thursday evening to prepare this tasty delight.

Cinnamon Raisin Brown Rice Pudding

  • 1 qt milk (I used 2%, but you could certainly use whatever you’d like)
  • 1/2 C uncooked brown rice
  • 1/4 C honey & maple syrup (I added a bit more to taste)
  • 1/2 C raisins
  • 1/4 T cinnamon

Combine milk, rice and sweetener in a large saucepan. WeAreNotMartha’s original recipe called for agave nectar, but I just worked with the honey and maple syrup. It was definitely sweet enough, and I added a bit more to taste.

Simmer this for about 30 minutes or so, and the mixture should start to thicken. Mine didn’t quite thicken in 30 minutes, but I stirred it up a bit and puttered around the kitchen doing a few other things while the mixture got roaring.

The next step is to stir in the raisins and cinnamon and voila! Twenty minutes later you have a thick and delicious brown rice pudding. I actually didn’t eat mine right away, so I didn’t cook my rice through all the way. I refrigerated the mixture and pulled it out the next night. I simply reheated it, added a bit more milk and cinnamon and it was good as gold. Pair this with a delicious cup of tea and there you have yourself a rainy day snack fit for a king.

Leave a Reply

