With all there is, why settle for just a piece of sky?

I will be on the other side of 25 come Friday. Where has this past year taken me? What notable notables have occurred in my life?

I still live in Cambridge (hopefully through my 26th year…more on that later). I still work at Suffolk. I’m still gay. I’m still single. I’m also still a tad crazy.

A year ago I had gotten dumped at the beginning of August and took some time after that to focus on the wondrousness of my being. Work was keeping me quite busy so I really didn’t have a lot of time to go out and be on the dating scene. I had a few blips here and there, but nothing took. Given the last few dating experiences I’ve gone through I think I have a better idea of what I’m looking for and what kind of relationship I would like to be in. I’ve learned a lot about myself through my interactions with people, not just in the dating arena. I’ve lost and gained friends, reconnected with those that had fallen to the wayside and realized how important my “urban family” is to me. While my biological family is always going to be there for me, it’s the relationships I have forged on my own outside of them that will keep me sane and support me when others cannot.

I think back to where I was a year ago at this time. I remember feeling a knot in my stomach form about three weeks before my birthday, a day shared with a national tragedy and the three-month anniversary of my grandmother’s death. I felt selfish and silly for getting excited about the day of my birthday when all I could think about was the day of a death. YiaYia, as grandmother is known in Greek, would have wanted me to celebrate my life and be happy. There was never a dull moment when YiaYia was around, whether she was yelling at you or laughing at something that tickled her funny bone. She was remarkable and that’s what I held in my heart when I celebrated my 25th birthday and it’s what I still clutch onto this very day.

This year will bring positivity and more growth. There are certain things that I wish to accomplish this year and, if I stay positive and true to myself, I will accomplish them.

2 thoughts on “With all there is, why settle for just a piece of sky?

  1. Oh yay! We have the same birthday!

    Okay, I know I should’ve introduced myself better than that. I’m Julie and will be going to the Beehive – where you’ll be – next month and I wanted to start stalking the only man that will be there. And now, after reading down through your first page, I think this is going to be great.

    I used to write a blog http://makeuptext.blogspot.com but since I fell in love with a man from OKC, I’ve left that part behind. If for any silly reason you’d want to read it, email me at JulieNashawaty (at) aol . com and I can send you the invite.

    I look forward to meeting you next month!

    • No way! Twinsies!

      Haha am I really the only man? Too bad I’m gay πŸ˜‰

      Oooh, I would LOVE to read your blog. I’ll shoot you an email later on.

      Thanks for the comment, dear πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

