What Hemisphere Am I In?

I woke up this morning with an irrational fear that plagues Americans on a daily basis. What day is it?

I went to bed before 10:30pm last night, a feat I have rarely been accomplishing as of late. I nestled myself among my nest of sheets and comforter and promptly started a night of sleep. I woke up at approximately 6:00am bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. However, I thought it was Friday and that I had somehow forgotten to wake up for Thursday, teach class and go to work. It’s a panicky feeling when you wake up and you have no idea what time it is, where you are or what day it is.

Needless to say, the rest of the morning continued without catastrophe. I breezed into the shower, birds sang while I towel-dried myself and my housekeeper laid out my clothes for me. Ah, if only that were true.

I wore a pink shirt today and realized, upon entering the Office of Diversity Services Coffee Hour today, that today is the start of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Yay boobs! It is also the start of LGBT History Month, a time that is near and dear to my heart. Ironically enough, I led a class discussion on the LGBT lifestyle which was sparked from a reading my students had to commplete for today’s class. This sista got up on her high horse and had a few things to say about LGBT rights, that’s for damn sure. My class was held in the palm of my warm little hand. It was fabulous.

After a brief hiatus in writing that brief little account of today’s activities, I am rounding out this post with a cry for help. I need a new blog layout! Ah! If anyone is savvy at this kind of graphic design I would appreciate any and all help. Since my blog is entitled “on a clear day, you can see forever” I would like the theme to be drawn from the movie of the same name, with a subtle Babs-inspired motif. Think it can happen? Eff yeah, it can!

Leave a Reply

