Good Night, and Good Luck

I have had one of the most emotionally draining weeks of my entire life. As I mentioned in my previous post, my grandmother (YiaYia as we call her in Greek) was in the hospital battling cancer. She has since passed away and I spent last week in Westford with my family attending her wake and funeral, and also trying to stop World War III from being waged in my household. It’s never easy to lose a family member, especially a grandparent that’s been around you your whole life. I’m still in shock and disbelief that she is gone and I’ll never see her again. What is helping me get through this difficult time is the knowledge that she was a well-loved and respected member of the community. So many people from our church came out to pay their respects and tell my family how much they loved my YiaYia. The outpouring of support was immense and, despite our sadness, we all made it through the wake and funeral.

Whew.  Today was my first day back at work and it almost felt like I never left. We had a delightful little flood on my floor today and, thankfully, my office remained unscathed save for a small portion of our Resource Center.

I have a few dating updates but they’re so inconsequential that I hardly feel them worth mentioning. All I’m going to say is that my Match.com membership expires next week and I am ECSTATIC. I wish I could have a ceremonial burning of Match.com profile, but a click of the delete button will just have to do. I actually have my (hopefully) very last Match.com date on Friday. This fine gentleman is 33, lives in Somerville and works at UMass Medical. He has a fierce and undying love for Amy Sedaris and Strangers With Candy which, if you know, is the way to my heart. From his Match.com picture he looks to be cute, but I had to become his Facebook friend to be totally sure. I like to have all my bases covered. I believe we will be imbibing a beer or two somewhere in Inman Square on Friday evening. Exact location and time TBD.

I must trot off to an evening program here at the local Suffolk University. I will try to restrain myself and not eat every slice of pizza I lay my greedy little eyes on.

Leave a Reply

