Chilled Cucumber Soup

I recently took an amazing vacation to Miami with my friend Josh and stayed the the beautiful Palms Hotel and Spa. We had a fun-filled and relaxing 6-day, 5-night stay and would go back in a heartbeat. While there, we had a superb lunch in the hotel’s restaurant, Essensia, with the Director of Communications. While the menu was extensive and full of delicious food, I opted to start my meal off with something a bit unique: chilled cucumber soup. It sounds a little funky for those of us who aren’t used to cold soups, but you must trust me when I saw that I could not get enough of it!

Chilled Cucumber Soup

  • 1 cup crème fraiche (non fat)
  • 1 cup greek yoghurt (non fat)
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. vinegar white
  • 1 tbsp. fresh dill
  • 2 ea. crushed garlic
  • 1 tbsp. chopped white onion
  • 2 large cucumber, peeled and seeded
  • 3 ea. fresh pears, peeled and seeded
  • 1 tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 4 tbsp. honey
  • 2 tbsp. toasted sliced almonds

Place all ingredients except the cucumber in a blender and blend well. Chop the cucumber in small pieces and add to the mixture. Turn the blender on briefly and then off to check the consistency of the gazpacho. Consistency should be smooth to slightly chunky. Season with salt & pepper to taste. Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.   Serve into martini glass, garnish with a sprig of dill and top with sliced toasted almonds.

Executive Chef Frank Jeannetti

Such a refreshing start to my delicious lunch! I recently made the cucumber soup at home and it came out almost as perfect as when I first ate it in Miami. I think the portion size in the martini glass is a bit much, so I would recommend serving it in a double shot glass at the start of a summer dinner party.

The bookends to my lunch, a churrasco steak, were both soups: the aforementioned cucumber soup and a creamy tapioca soup. More on the tapioca soup later 🙂

4 thoughts on “Chilled Cucumber Soup

Leave a Reply

