Broccoli Soup

I know.

ANOTHER soup recipe.

I can’t help it! I keep stumbling on delicious soups and I simply must make each and every one. I found this fine gem in the Improper Bostonian, courtesy of Chris Parsons of Parsons Table. The prep and actual cooking of this soup seemed a bit daunting as I had never blanched a thing before in my life, but it was as easy as 1,2,3. I was also a bit confused as to how the potato fit into all of this, but it added a bit of body to the soup.

Broccoli Soup

  • Extra-virgin olive oil, as needed
  • 1 Spanish onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 lbs. broccoli, florets removed and cut into bite-size pieces, and stems thinly sliced
  • 1 russet potato, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 6 cups 2% milk

Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, season liberally with salt and stir. Reduce heat to medium-low and cover, Cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the sliced broccoli stems to the onion, sir, cover, reduce heat to low and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Meanwhile, bring 4 quarts of water to a boil with one cup of kosher salt. Prepare an ice bath. Plunge the broccoli florets into the boiling water and cooking for 1 minute then remove to the ice bath. Spin the florets in a salad spinner and set aside.

Heat the milk in a medium saucepan, add the potato and bring to a simmer. Pour into the pot with the broccoli stems and onion. Bring to a gentle simmer and cook until the potatoes are tender (about 10 minutes). remove from heat and add blanched florets to the pot.

Blend in a high-speed blender and straing, pushing solids against mesh with the back of a ladle. Serve with kosher salt, white pepper or your choice of garnish.

I added some red pepper flakes for a bit of a kick. In hindsight, I should have added more zesty spices to turn up the volume while the onions and broccoli stems were sauteing. Anyway, the soup was quite tasty indeed! I really enjoyed making it and eating it. As with everything I make, I had enough to last me for a week. I ate it cold, I reheated it, I plunged bread in it and ate it as if it were a dip. Who knew you could find such a delicious recipe tucked in the pages of the Improper Bostonian?

3 thoughts on “Broccoli Soup

  1. Hey! It is John Harper. After our run-in the other night I could not find you on facebook, but this came up. If you want to add me I am on the Cape Cod network, and I am wearing a yellow hat in the picture. Stay in touch!
    John

Leave a Reply

